Armored loin cloth ideas below. Since my loincloth is heavily weathered and has some holes (damage) will match the armored plates accordingly with damage in corresponding areas.

Rough cardboard template idea for my armored loin. Does this look streamline and fit BRLs?

Answers from Erio J’uni on 5/25/24:

1. Yes, this loincloth templates are fine. Just make sure you’re comfortable with the mobility.

Update 5/27/24:

Since my armored loin cloth template was given the okay I took those pieces and made uniformed pieces on a piece of sintra. I then made it streamlined by creating the descending plates each smaller. I got these plates out with an exacto knife and laid them out on my loincloth.

I then drilled uniformed holes down each side in the same spots from center point. Heated each plate and formed a curve to them to look more appropriate on the loin cloth instead of flat.

I then started with an Metallic Silver spray paint, used liquid latex, then Metallic Satin Nickle spray paint, then liquid latex, a chrome spray paint, then liquid latex, Spring Green spray paint, then liquid latex, and then a Hunter Green spray paint. After a day I rubbed off all the liquid latex to reveal a weathered layer look to my armored plates. Similar technique down for my other plates.

I then found some leather straps for the backside of my loin cloth to line up with the pre-drilled holes to use with chicago screws. I made sure the holes in my loincloth allowed these plates to be centered straight down the middle from the buckle.

After attaching my plates to my loin cloth I started the weathering process of a combination of dark espresso brown, warm caramel, white, and espresso brown spray paints by spraying it on the plates and then dabbing off the majoring of the paint to leave behind a black wash weathering. Then I added pumpkin spice to match up with the weathering applied on my other soft parts. The chicago screw heads were also paint to match the armor plates. Then I damaged my plates in the same spots my loin cloth was damaged. A scratch on the lower right side looking at the loin cloth as well. I added some darker hammered black spray paint to these areas for carbon scoring and added a layer of ground cinnamon to complete the weathering look.

I have a little bit more shaping to do on the armored loin from where I applied damage to the plates to lay them back against the loincloth. Overall I think this armored loin looks great and matches the rest of my PI Survivor kit.